Table finish

Discussion in 'Jims Woodworking' started by CountryHart, Jun 16, 2008.

1. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    I just cut the top (red cedar) for a kitchen table. I jointed the edges and plan on gluing them together and putting it on 3/4 plywood. Does anyone have suggestions as to what to finish this top with. I was thinking of perhaps the stuff they put on gym floors. I like the looks of poly, but not sure if it's durable enough for a table top? Thanks in advance, i'm a rookie and need all the help i can muster.:wink:

2. slabmaster

slabmaster New Member

State:
    missouri
    we use to use polyurathane but discovered spar holds up much better .we use min-wax products. i have heard a lot of good things about cabots spar urathane but it is pricey. i like the satin finish and my partner likes high gloss. the finish oh rocky's table is satin spar urathane. we built a service counter/bar for a resteraunt in springdale and used spar urathane on it. it is holding up really good when you consider the amount of use it gets.

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    Thanks Rex, do i need to steel wool between coats?Also with cedar is there a puddy to use for knots?

4. slabmaster

slabmaster New Member

State:
    missouri