Swallowing hooks!

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by young catfisherman, Jun 11, 2006.

1. young catfisherman

young catfisherman New Member

State:
    ohio
    Plez help me!
    i have been catfishing for about 2 years now, always looking for new hooks. i use a good size hook and the fish i catch usely swallow the hook, what kind of hooks do you use dose this happen to you?
    THANKS

2. curdog

curdog New Member

State:
    Sheridan, Arkansas
    Mackoy You might try setting the hook sooner. I don't know of a hook out there that a cat want swallow. Unless its a circle hook.

3. Itch2Scratch

Itch2Scratch New Member

State:
    Ivy Bend on LOZ, Missouri
    Sounds like your loose line fishing..try tight lining.:wink:

4. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
    ya alright
    sounds good ill try that too night.
    thanks

5. SubnetZero

SubnetZero New Member

State:
    Sherman IL
    I've been real happy with a Kahle.. 99% of the time the hook is in the corner of their mouth..I also fish loose line... If you using dip bait, I would highly recommend a [thread=9237]Looper rig[/thread] with a kahle or circle hook..

6. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
    alright
    ill will have to try that!
    thanks.

7. katcatchingfool

katcatchingfool New Member

State:
    illinois
    try using cyrcle hooks, gamakatsu, ive been fishing with them for years now and i have never had one swallow the hook

8. breadboy

breadboy New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    I second the gamakatsu circle hooks. I use them and 90 percent of the time the fish is hooked right in the corner of the mouth.
    Good luck!

9. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio
    ok ill have to get some and try them out.

thanks

10. Abu65

Abu65 Member

State:
    Kentucky
    When I was using circles that was the one thing I really liked about them. I only had one fish that I remember swalloing the hook.

11. young catfisherman

State:
    ohio