Surf Rods?

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by Hopper, Dec 20, 2005.

1. Hopper

Hopper New Member

State:
    NC
    Does anyone use surf rods for cat fishing? The reason I ask is that I have a 12' Ocean Master spinning rod rated for 6-12oz with a Diawa Emblem 6000 reel with 20# test, an 11' Sealine X spinning rod rated for 4-7oz with an Emblem 5000 with 17# test, and a 9' Eliminator spinning rod rated 1-6oz with no reel right now but I am looking at BG30 for it. Would any of these set ups work well for catching cats?

Right now I use a 7' Fenwick muskie rod with an ABU 6500 and looking to add to my arsenal.

Thank you for any input.

2. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    I use spinning rods from 9ft to 15ft for cats. they work well for me. I have 20lb big game on all my reels

3. daystarchis

daystarchis New Member

State:
    Clovis Cali
    I use a surf rod. I have a Solaris Surf Rod (12' Med. Heavy)
    IM6 graphite blanks Fuji components Sure grip cork wrap Soft touch EVA handles. I have it paired with a Penn GTO 60# Spider original. Can't go wrong with it.

4. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    I use 10-11 ft surf rods for big cats. I've got a Diawa sealine shv reel on all of mine, it's a baitcaster reel with clicker. I've got Hatteras Heaver rods, custom made in Nags Head, NC. All make super catfish rods, they cast a mile and they have alot of back back bone and set the hook great!

I would say that what you are talking about getting sounds great for big cats. Those Diawa emblem reel's are awesome reels too. Good luck. :)

5. Gator

Gator New Member

State:
    Ludowici GA
    Surf rods will work just fine and they are built for long cast and hard abuse

6. janzaldo

janzaldo New Member

State:
    South Gate, Cal
    Hi Robb, about how many yards can you cast out?

Jaime

7. dinkbuster1

dinkbuster1 New Member

State:
    Ohio