Summer/Hot Weather fishing

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by dwreel, Aug 10, 2006.

1. dwreel

dwreel New Member

State:
    Southern Pines, NC
    Normally I don't fish during the summer heat, but gonna change that. Night fishing or early morning is my plan. A few questions if you don't mind.

1. Bottom fishing or under a bobber? Which should I try most?

2. Cut bait or stink/punch types bait ? Or maybe worms ?

Is it really a " try everything you've got" until you find out what works and stick with that for the day ?

I appreciate any and all replies, guys.

thanks,
    dick/dwreel.

2. Dave53

Dave53 New Member

State:
    Lonedell M
    dwreel, I'm not an expert like a lot of these guys are..when I fish at night I do so a little different than I do during the day..first, if you are trying to catch large fish then live bait such as shad, breem, or minnows are great. Cut shad or breem is also good. I normally fish on the bottom with a float about 8" from my hook with enough slack to let the bait rise at least a foot off the bottom. When I fish the river at night I try to find a place that is near to deep water, near current and is between 3 to 6 feet deep. I then fan out my rods to cover as much area as I can. Towards the bank, in the shallows, near the deep area, and out towards the current.. When I get a couple hits or fish in one area or another then I double up my rods in that area. Stink or punch baits work really well, in my experience, with smaller cats then live/cut bait. You will have a better chance catching a catfish with this type bait too then with worms..worms seem to catch anything and everything. One other thing I would mention is that I have found to leave your bait in the water for hours on end is not a good idea..if I have not had a bite in 45 minutes to an hour when I'm fishing at night I change the bait, unless it is live bait,..you never know if your bait is gone or cover by debre. Hope something here helps.