submersible lights?

Discussion in 'ARIZONA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by GwillE, Jul 7, 2009.

1. GwillE

GwillE New Member

State:
    Phoenix,AZ
    When I overnight with my son, on the boat he likes to drop the light in the water he gets a kick out of all the minnows and shad the light attracts. it never seemed to bother the channels. a friend of mine told me " The light will spook the flatheads away" Any truth to that guys?

2. Rcaarizona

Rcaarizona New Member

State:
    AZ
    Although I am not a scientist, I always catch way more flatheads without light, I hate light when fishing for flatheads, also I have always noticed that when reeling in a flathead, it fights harder once it sees my headlight. I dont even light a beach fire close to the water when I fish. Absolute total darkness is what I love.

3. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Myself, I don't think there is a bit of truth to the light scaring fish, unless it is a moving light. How do you account for the light on the night of a full moon... normally fishing is slightly better then. If you move the light around, then things are not as they normally are... the moon doesn't move. So, if the light is stationary, as in a boat, or a lantern on shore, I don't think it bothers them in the least.

4. gilmafam

gilmafam Well-Known Member

State:
    California
    I hear what your saying Lawrence... but then again, I heard it told that the flats will move away from the light....That ole full moon just helps with the sillouette of fish higher in the water column...

but then again... that ole submersed lite shure brings the bait up and get the gills going at night....

I'm trying to keep the noise and lights to a min when fishing for flats on the Colorado river...

5. tofish

tofish New Member

State:
    arizona
    i'll say that ray likes it quiet on river. keeps saying i talk too much. :confused2: