submerged motor

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by mandingo, Jun 11, 2008.

1. mandingo

mandingo Member

State:
    kansas
    i have a buddy who recently capsized his boat and tore it up pretty bad and he would like to salvage anything worth of any value.what are the main concerns about the motor and what should be done in order to save it, if even possible?thanks -caleb

2. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    I deep 6'ed a 9.8 merc once and drained carb, took hair dryer and dryed everything out and ran it a couple years after that. I'm no mechanic but hopefully it's not hurt too bad.

3. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    Sunk a 60 horse and it stayed on the bottom all night.
    I was running wide open with it the next morning shortly after getting up off the bottom.

4. mandingo

mandingo Member

State:
    kansas
    wow,so even if the motor was running when it sank,nothing internally would be damaged?this happened 5 days ago,is it too late to stop corrosion?or is that even an issue?

5. don3778

don3778 New Member

State:
    Walkervill