Striper fishing Lake Murray Tomorrow

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by preacherfisherman, Nov 14, 2008.

1. preacherfisherman

preacherfisherman Member

State:
    SC
    Name:
    Tommy
    I will be Striper fishing lake Murray tomorrow and need a little help. I have fished twice this week all over the lake and caught plenty of Stipers but none that measure. If anyone is willing to help a brother out just drop me a hint or two. thanks for anything.

2. john catfish young

john catfish young New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I dont know about your lake or your state, i wish I did. But I have been catching stripers for over 30 years or so. I fish mainly at cumberland river system that runs through Tennessee and up through Kentucky and all the lakes that it incorporates. We always used Live skipjacks and or Shad. We caught Really big ones back in the 80's and 90's and some of those were in the 40# range, with a few going even bigger. Have caught many smaller fish throwing white bucktail jigs with fish ranging from 4 or 5 lbs up through 15 or 20 lbs. How are you fishing??? From a boat? or the bank? Trolling? Casting? artificals? live? I'll check ya later Brother good luck!:wink:

3. tony

tony New Member

State:
    lake Murray sc
    i work on the lake at lighthouse marina and i fish the lake alot. the bad thing is that the stripers have been small all year. but the colder it gets the better it will get. i've been catching some keepers but not many in big hollow creek and have been getting reports of keepers being caught in johns creek also.but even the guides are having a tough time catching keepers also. one day i caught over 100, but every one was 6 to 10 inches long. it's tough right now but it's suppose to be below freezing every night next week. the water temp is 63 degrees, it needs to get in the mid 50"s, then things will change. bigger fish should bite better. good luck!!!

4. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State: