Strange looking catfish

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by mrhookset, Oct 20, 2006.

1. mrhookset

mrhookset New Member

State:
    New York
    Hellow everyone. This is my first time posting a thread so bare with me. I live in upstate ny and fish alot in the hudson river and lake champlain. Last weekend my father, a couple friends and I were fishing at southbay just outside of white hall and my dad caught a weird looking catfish. It was long and slender like a channel cat, but it had black sploches all over its body and eyes that popped off its head kind of like a walleye. Its skin was smooth so it seemed normal. The only thing I can think of is mabey a channel cat bred with a blue and its a hybrid. I don't have a picture on hand but if I get a hold of one I will post it. Just figured someone might know what it was. If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks Mr Hookset

2. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    Welcome to the BOC, glad to have you aboard.
    ~ I'd be interested in seeing a photo. Take care. ~A

3. greasemonkey07

greasemonkey07 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Welcome to BOC brother. Fish on.

4. bootshowl

bootshowl New Member

State:
    Indiana, J
    Welcome Frank. Like to see a photo too. I guarantee someone here knows what it is.....the Hudson....it didn't glow in the dark did it?
    :lol:

5. catman529

catman529 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    The catfish was corroded from all the acid and pollution in the Hudson. its eyes were probably falling out. haha:big_smile: :big_smile:

6. loanwizard

loanwizard Well-Known Member

State:
    Coshocton,
    I have caught many a small channel with speckles to spots. They usually outgrow them. Can't say about the bugeye though Maybe a big cat squeezed him or maybe he needs specs.... Maybe it's your New York water supply.

7. mrhookset

mrhookset New Member

State:
    New York