Straight, right helical, or left helical?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting' started by smhmc6, Nov 30, 2008.

1. smhmc6

smhmc6 Member

State:
    Kansas
    I would like to get a jig to put vanes on my own arrows. I like doing things myself, and would like to start putting my own vanes on my arrows. What is best, a straight vane right helical or left helical? I imagine they have a place for everything, what is each best at? I guess left or right wouldn't matter, but I never really did any reasearch on it. If they are quick spins, do they need to be helical or does that make it that much better?

I bought a new bow this past week and a dozen arrows to go with it. I got good shafts, and the archery pro convinced me that the blazer vanes were good. We got it paper tuned and the blazer vanes seemed to do pretty well in the range, but when I started shooting it outside into the wind not so much. It was bad enough that I could see with my naked eye that it took about 20 yards to stabilize. I think that part of it was probably that I need to get some of that new string creep out and re-tune it. But what are your opinions on the blazer vanes?

2. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Been awhile since I tuned archery tackle,

It could be the vanes, but, maybe it is the knocking point.. low or high.

Straight vanes are a bit faster If I remember, but, helical may stabilize more.

3. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    If you are shooting at target range go strait, if hunting go helical. you want your arrow to spin as if it is tightening the threads on the broad head Or the broad head may end up being loose when it makes contact with the animal.

Make sure the fletching is not hitting anything on launch check nock point for tightness and position. You may be torqueing the bow with your hand also would cause this problem. A sling on the bow hand to keep it from bouncing out of the hand and shooting open handed will cure that.