straight eye OR up eye circle hook ??

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by hank55, Oct 1, 2008.

1. hank55

hank55 New Member

State:
    illinois
    I am embarrest to say ,Ive been fishing for over 40 years and never heard of circle hooks,but after reading through this forum I will definetly give them a try.

My question is ,whats the differance between a straight eye, and up eye circle hook, Ive seen the differance but what about their use.

I fish mainly in Clinton Lake, Clinton Illinois, a cooling lake for a power plant.

2. catoon

catoon Board Clown!

State:
    whiteville
    man i dont know this should be good

3. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR
    I'm not sure this is what you're talking about, but if you mean a hook that has the flat side of the eye slightly bent toward the point, it's my understanding that it's made for snelling. Anybody ever hear anything different?

4. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    You got it, Jerry. The hook is designed so the pull of the line will be in-line with the shank of the hook. A straight hook is subject, or so the thougt goes, to bending when the line is jerked, moving the hook out of the fishes mouth. The bent eye gives the pull in the same direction as the shank. AND the whole premise of the circle hook is that it will set itself.

5. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    I agree with Lawrence on this one. Hank Welcome to the BOC.:0a22::0a25::0a25:

6. Big Sam

Big Sam Well-Known Member

State:
    Booneville AR
    Name:
    Sam
    Lawerence .... is it true if you buy hooks that are off-set-eye-(made for snelling) they wont set the hook right if ya dont use a snell on them???? I have heard this rumor anyone know???:eek:oooh:

7. jtrew

jtrew New Member

State:
    Little Rock, AR