storing fish in boat

Discussion in 'Boating' started by mary, Jan 14, 2009.

1. mary

mary New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Hello,
    I am relatively new at fishing in a boat. What does everyone do with their catfish they want to keep while on the lake or river? Do you clean them immediately and put them in a cooler?
    Thanks,
    Mary

2. StuBone278

StuBone278 New Member

State:
    south central Louisiana
    The same way you keep them when you're bank fishing, unless you use stringers.
    I usually get a bag of ice or freeze gladware plastic containers and crack the ice out into the ice chest and throw them in the cooler with it. Clean them at home.

3. Kutter

Kutter New Member

State:
    Arnold, MO
    Welcome aboard, Mary.
    The few times I do keep my fish, I prefer to just throw them into a cooler till I get home. Not always practical in the hot summer. Here in MO, law says ya got to keep the main carcass in the boat with ya, if you clean the fish.

4. JERMSQUIRM

JERMSQUIRM New Member

State:
    il-waynesv
    ya like kutter illinois law doesnt allow dumping guts in the waters so i stringer them or cooler them. cooler is a rare deal but will be more in the future. ive had some questionable fish from time to time but i gots a cast iron gut so i eat em anyways.:wink::smile2:

5. corklabus

corklabus New Member

State:
    West Virginia
    Since I live less than 15 miles from the boat dock, I just leave the fish I intend to keep in the livewell with the aerator on and clean them when I get home and bury the guts and stuff somewhere in the vicinity of the garden depending on the time of year. I usually only keep smaller stuff that will be eaten the next day anyway

6. Katmandeux

Katmandeux New Member

State:
    Checotah, Oklahoma
    I don't like to hold fish, especially in hot weather, so if I plan on keeping any, I clean them immediately, bag the filets, and put them on ice.