Stock or ext choke?? need some help plz

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by LafayetteRiverRunner, Sep 17, 2007.

1. LafayetteRiverRunner

LafayetteRiverRunner New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I am new to waterfowl hunting and would like to know the diff between the 2? Is the ext choke better with smaller shot say bb or the bigger bbb ? I have been doing pretty good this year with my moss835 w/stock and bb but sometime I have to shoot 2 and 3 times to kill the bird.Shot 8 so far in early season. I would just like all the info I can get. Is the ext more for geese the duck?? Does it shoot farther or say hold a pattern farther?? I know little about waterfowl but am learning more every time I go out. Thanks

2. Mark R.

Mark R. New Member

State:
    Rush Springs, OK
    I use a ported extended choke (modified) for about everything in my 12 ga.
    It works pretty well all around except for quail and skeet shooting where it helps to have a little more open choke.

3. rodenberg

rodenberg New Member

State:
    missouri
    finding the right tube for your gun is the main thing to do. it may be extended or it might be a factory tube. you need to pattern you gun with loads you will be shooting with several different tubes at different ranges. then go with the one that produces the best pattern. it is a paint the rear but its the best way to find a good killing pattern. I shoot a terror .705 extended tube for geese and turkeys. Its kinda like an extra full. but for ducks I just the plain ole stock mod tube. these tube produce the best for each type of hunting and load. Hope this helps a little

4. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS