Stinkbait Help

Discussion in 'LOCAL CALIFORNIA TALK' started by JHalden, May 26, 2009.

1. JHalden

JHalden New Member

State:
    NorthCalifornia
    Hey everyone I'm really new to catfishing and have only landed one cat, about 1 lb. Been going out to a spot close to my house where a creek runs into the lake. Got the most ammount of bites on chicken liver. Only gotten like 1 bite with nightcrawlers and thats the fish i caught. Also tried sardines (chunks and fillets) but no takers on that. I would rather use bait that doesn't make my hands reak and my gear grimey but unfortunately the nightcrawlers arent very productive. I am after some eater size fish and I heard that stinkbait was good for them...

Do any of you use stinkbait? I tried one of the like catfish dingleberry things with this nasty blood paste a while back and didn't really like it. Could anyone lean me in the direction of some good stinkbaits? Also how can stinkbaits be rigged? Any input is greatly appreciated! :happy:

2. Nightstalker 424

Nightstalker 424 New Member

State:
    California
    Justin, I have had some good luck on a piece of mackeral dipped in DUMONGS stinkbait. This stuff is nasty but the channels seem to like it! Wear rubber gloves when you handle. They sell it here in SOCAL at Turners, not sure up north! As far as rigging, you can either flyline it or rig it up Carolina style depending on current. Good luck!

3. askins00

askins00 New Member

State:
    California
    I use catifish charlies stick shad dip bait from Bass Pro shops and a looper rig. The dip bait comes in a tub and I use a popsickle stick to load the looper rig. Hope this helps.

4. tofish

tofish New Member

State:
    arizona
    justin, if you really don't like hands to smell and that is what is holding you back, go get some rubber gloves. chicken liver covered with garlic, mackeral, stink bait to name a few. gotta get down and dirty to get them.
    gary

5. shania

shania New Member

State:
    San Leandro, Ca