Still headaches with 96 40hp evinrude

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Nedo, Nov 27, 2006.

1. Nedo

Nedo New Member

State:
    Ontario
    So I got the boat back from the mechanic. He said my diaphragm was cracked so i replaced my vro pump to be safe. He also said he did a compression test and both cylinders were the same, and he cleaned my carbs. The shaking I was complaining about in previous posts did calm down alot so I'm happy about that, but it will still shut off every once in a while, while it is idling (although this did get alot better too). I also find when starting the motor I have to give it a little gas when it starts to keep it running, then I can ease off the throttle. The mechanic said he checked the plugs and they were good. What else can I look for?

2. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Get a carb adjustment on the water, in gear, and at idle speed.

See if that helps.

3. Nedo

Nedo New Member

State:
    Ontario
    Im new to boats. How do I do this??

4. Nedo

Nedo New Member

State:
    Ontario
    Fuel does seem to be the problem, since it shuts off when I take the choke off. Choke is off when that little red pointer is vertical and when u move it clockwise to sit horizontal the choke is on, correct?

5. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    It's not a choke, it's a primer. Electricly operated through the ignition switch. Push in on the key and it activates the solenoid. The red lever in it is for manual operation.

If you've got the red lever in the wrong position, it'll stay flooded and run like crap, if at all.

Read through the carb rebuild thread. You'll see the idle adjustment screw.

Did you clean out your gas tank?

6. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Here's the link to some carb cleaning.http://www.catfish1.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11900