steering

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by willcat, Apr 10, 2008.

1. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    I want to move my console to the center of my pontoon. How do I get the cable out of my steering box assy behind the steering wheel so that I can move it to the center of the deck when I redrill the hole where it's going to come thru?????? Any help is much appreciated, thanks

2. flounderman

flounderman New Member

State:
    Blaine, Washington
    Is it a Teleflex, rotary or rack????

3. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    I'm new to this so I don't know, I can take a pic this weekend & post it. Thanks for the reply.

4. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    i haven't been able to post a pic of the steering but it looks like the cable goes in one side & there is a tube looking thing on top of the box. there is also a pin that looks like u need to pull out for the cable to come out????On a side note i picked up a center console today brand new for 100$, now if i can move it to the center of the boat i will be able to walk around both the sides instead of just one side!!! If nothing else i can pull the cable out from the back i guess!!!

5. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    i just looked at a teleflex steering helm on ebay & yes mine looks just like that, i guess it is a teleflex anybody got any pointers so i don't screw it up taking it apart??? any help is very much appreciated

6. handyronokc

handyronokc New Member

State:
    Oklahoma ( Central )
    Will , I moved mine to the center, it works just fine. ( that is the short story)

I did take it apart to check for wear, cause my fixer / upper pontoon boat was made in 1979.
    ( it is not very complicated, IMO, )
    ( I cleaned everything completely then put it back together with new marine grease)