Squirrel hunters, Favorite guns? why?

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by backwoodsman68geric, Aug 3, 2009.

1. backwoodsman68geric

backwoodsman68geric New Member

State:
    illinois
    Thought I'd get as conversation going. I like a 20 ga. early in the season until the leaves drop some. After Sep.1st we switch to .22's mainly. Ive used a .22 magnum before if we're in an area that is wide open and the tree rats hang around up in the tops of big oaks etc. Ive used and like all kinds of actions ie: single shot, pumps, autos, lever actons. I bought 3 new semi auto .22's last spring on sale Im planning on setting up for squirrels. Mossberg Plinkster, Remington mod.597 and Savage. Im new to those 3, anyone ever use any of'em or have any insight to which is better? I used an SKB mod500 20ga for almost 2 decades and a Bingham Squires semi auto.22 and Marlin mod 39 lever action .22. but the Bingham is the only one left. I bought a Mossberg 20ga mod500 3 years ago for squirrels and a backup deer gun and its really been a good one.

2. lance

lance New Member

State:
    kentucky
    Old guns LOL ! Western Field mod 30 16g. and a Winchester mod 50 12g. Theese guns were giving to me from generations gone by and have put many rabbits and squirrells in the game bag .:wink:

3. Eddie Mullins

Eddie Mullins New Member

State:
    AR
    I squirrel hunt A LOT, but I don't still hunt, I raise squirrel dogs. My gun of chioce is a 20 ga pump, currently using a Mossberg 500. I shoot a scatter gun because I am shooting running squirrels a lot of the time and I don't like to let them get away. I have to admit I like the smell of gun powder and don't mind pulling the trigger either. If I haven't gone through at least a box of shells, its been a dull hunt :smile2:. Still hunting I used to primarily use a scoped .22 semi auto, used a Marlin model 60 for years, switch to a ruger 10/22 for a little bit, but my dad has it now.

4. FishMan

FishMan New Member

State:
    Tennessee