Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Fellow Catfishermen,

I am new to New Jersey and I was looking for some information on the seasonal movements for Channel and White Catfish in Spruce Run. I have over 20 years of experience targeting Blue and Flathead catfish, with some limited exposure to fishing for Channel Cats in Virginia and Texas. I've been told that cut herring is king out there and that the thermocline in the summer causes the fish to hold in 10-15 feet of water. I was hoping that some one out there has some more specifics before I head out to the Lake again. I've been mostly targeting lake trout in Round Valley with great success, but I miss catfishing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have a boat that is fully equiped to target catfish.

Thanks,
Rick

·
Registered
8,122 Posts
Look out fer a guy called Big George on here. He's from Jersey and a catfishin fool. LOL Like I said watch out and heavy on the fool. LOL Welcome aboard!!

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
Now were talking!!!! Spruce run was my main stomping grounds for 20 years!! I will go copy and paste a couple things Ive wrote in the past and post them here!

·
Registered
2,605 Posts
This is a PM Ive sent to someone but the info is solid! Just remember spruce run is shallow and flat mostly so if shore fishing is your game take the time to figure out casting for distance.

" I have always had good luck fishing by the boat ramps but instead of fishing that side fish the opposite side of that point. You will see the bathrooms at the boat ramp if you are passing the bathrooms and the ramps are behind you continue on that little paved road and you will see where there is a sign sticking up on a little hill a lot of people do car top launches there its a great spot after dark for white cats, channel cats, and hybrids when the herring come in. Casting distance is key it seems the farther the better."

·
Registered
2,605 Posts