Sport vs. Recreation

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by kat in the hat, Sep 21, 2006.

1. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I am writng this because I am fairly new to the BOC and I don't want to step on anyone's toes, but I feel like I already have while defending another new mamber's rights and personal prefference about set lines. I did not join the BOC to make enemies, but to learn more about fishing and to make friends. I have noticed, however, that many in this forum have pretty strong opinions against trotlines and set lines. Some even seem to think that it's not only unsporting, but also unethical. I personally don't care for this segregation of thinking on this site as everyone has legal rights, personal prefference, and opinions that pertain to catfishing. All methods of fishing which are legal, are valid and ethical means of harvesting fish. Every member should be able to log on and discuss their success and failure and get info on all sorts of catfishing. That is why it's catfishing1, and not r&r1, right??? My stance is that, at one time or another I have employed all means of catching fish. Even grabbing although I don't suggest it, nor will I do it again as I was injured pretty severely, and probably deserved it. Some fish for sport, and some for recreation, and some for both. That's me. I love it all. Normally I r&r, but once a month I run lines. No matter how I fish, I have never caught my daily limit. Does anyone? If so I would like to know how. If trotlines are your thing guys I can't stress enough, if there is a chance of interfering with other's fishing, don't cross the channel with your lines. Be respectful and maybe this activity won't get such a bad rap. Fish on y'all, and remember that respect should be the foundation for all outdoor recreation. Respect for nature, and respect for each other.

2. mobowhtr

mobowhtr Member

State:
    MO