Spoonbilling

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by Terry Day, Mar 21, 2007.

1. Terry Day

Terry Day New Member

State:
    Parkville, Missouri
    OK, I admit that I am a novice to the spoon billing phenomena. I guess my questions is: What is the attraction to snagging spoon bill. I go across the Osage River there at Osceola on MO-13 on the way down to Bolivar and see all of the boats out snagging. Are they fun to catch / good to eat / or a nuisance like the carp? I have a boat and could chase them but don't have a reason too! Someone, please, fill me in the attraction to spoon billing! Thanks

2. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    It's a hillbilly thing? Just kidding guys, Terry I have no idea whats so exciting to snag a fish let a lone release a fish with a nice hole in it's side. If you say it's the fight, well all snagged fish fight better then ones caught in the mouth. It is amazing how many people will fit in a 16' jon boat swinging them rods back and forth. To me it reminds me of the little car they use to see how many clowns fit in it.

3. on_the_fly

on_the_fly New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    well Im in KY but they are fun to catch and great to eat. I get them for table food. my wife likes them because the meat is more like a chicken meat ( meaning it is not flakey meat like all other fish).it is great table fair after you remove all the red (dark meat) off of it like a strip bass.

4. on_the_fly

on_the_fly New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    and I forgot to add that people eat their eggs (caveare)i think that spelling is far from wright but any ways If you have a comercial fishing lisc. the eggs can sell for up to around 80 bucks a pound.

5. Seth

Seth Active Member

State:
    Owensville, MO
    1. They get humongous.
    2. They pull like hell.
    3. They taste awesome.
    4. No bones to worry about when eating.
    5. It's tradition.

6. Malichi1970

Malichi1970 New Member

State:
    Fenton, Missouri