Spinning Reels for big catfish

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Kimbrough21, Jan 31, 2007.

1. Kimbrough21

Kimbrough21 New Member

I am new to fishing for fish over 20 pounds. I currently use a couple of surf combos but am getting ready to pick up a couple of ugly stik cat rods. When fishing for large fish I am more comfortable fishing with spinning reels. What are the pros/cons for fishing with spinning while cat fishing and if I land the big one will I be at a severe disadvantage fishing with spinning equipment? Thanks for the help and tight lines.

Joe

2. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    Hi Joe, welcome to the BOC. There are a few good spinning reels out there that will get the job done. I have a Shimano 6500 Baitrunner that works well but not sure if it will outlast my baitcasters.

3. Tomahawk

Tomahawk New Member

State:
    NC
    Theres alot of good open face reels out there. I mostly use Tidewater, Okuima, Penn, and Basspro Offshore angler. You shouldn't have too much trouble useing open faces. Over the years I've caught alot of big cats on them. I prefer open face reels when using floatrigs. The main reason is you can cast them better.

4. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Welcome to the BOC Joe!, I use a spinning reel for catfishing sometimes, I have a Tidewater Freeliner spinning reel, I manly like using the spinning reel for throwing slip float rigs, just because they cast better. I use a baitcaster for bottom fishing.

5. tomcat85

tomcat85 New Member

State:
    uh
    Hey Joe welcome! I use an eagle claw beast spinning reel it works well for me holds up to 40# test line.

6. BigCatDreaming

BigCatDreaming New Member

State:
    Illinois