Spent the Day with Some Wounded Marines

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by WylieCat, Jul 14, 2006.

1. WylieCat

WylieCat Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    As some of you know I do video production work for a living. Today we did a shoot for ESPN at Camp LeJeune in NC. The story was about Carolina Hurricanes hockey player Glen Wesley bringing the Stanley Cup to the base to share with some Marines at Maxwell Hall, also known as the "wounded warrior barracks."

Maxwell Hall is part of a new program that allows wounded Marines to stay in military so that they can be trained for another job, and most of all work through the healing process alongside other injured Marines.

I was impressed on many levels today. First, I found it refreshing that professional hockey player Glen Wesley decided to share his day with the Stanley Cup with the wounded Marines. Wesley, who is now an American citizen, was born in Canada. Second, I was impressed with the spirit of the wounded Marines. They spoke of their injuries in a joking manner, and laughed and poked good hearted fun at the other injured Marines.

Proof, that the American spirit can be injured, but it never dies.

Here are some links to the story:
    http://www.marines.mil/marinelink/mcn2000.nsf/0/CD73C93DB8304F6C852571AA0074A562?opendocument

http://www.newbernsj.com/SiteProces...ates/Details.cfm&StoryID=28800&Section=Sports

2. Jammer

Jammer New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Excellant, uplifting story. The Marine Corp is our first line of defence and we all need to spend time with them and pray for them. I hope Mr Wesley wasn't there for a Photo op and has a true desire to see these men uplifted.

3. jerseycat9

jerseycat9 New Member

State:
    Oakwood Georgia
    Good post and good work sounds like you had an interesting day

4. Georgiajack

Georgiajack New Member

State:
    Georgia