Species Identification - How do you tell your catfish apart?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by rednecksportsman511, Dec 17, 2005.

1. rednecksportsman511

rednecksportsman511 New Member

State:
    Birmingham, AL
    I'm extremely confused. My brother caught what I thought was a blue cat, but someone said it was actually a channel. I've been catching these for ten years, and always thought they were blues. About a week ago I caught what I thought (not sure now) was my first channel cat in the same lake I always fish. It was real green with a bunch of pink in its fins, and the ones I've always thought were blues are real real dark bluish gray. I'll upload some pics, but if these dark ones are channels, why do they look so much different from the green one I caught? Wouldn't they be more alike if they're the same species in the same lake, same spot?

P.S. I feel like idiot now, cuz I thougth I knew a lil bit about catfishin, but apparently not. A lil help?

2. rednecksportsman511

State:
    Birmingham, AL
    Here are some pics. The first one is what I thought to be a channel. The next two I'm almost positive are blues. I know the big one is cuz channels rarely get that big.

Attached Files:

3. Big Country01

Big Country01 New Member

State:
    brandon,florida
    don't feel bad there lil'brother i took a test on another thread and couldn't tell the difference between a sauger and a saugeye...lol....

4. rednecksportsman511

State:
    Birmingham, AL
    wut do u think the fish in the pics are tho, blues or channels?

5. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    Looking at the pics, tells me these are channels. I may be wrong but I don't think so. I have been known to be wrong Before, LOL!!!

6. Alsey

Alsey New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    Channels have a rounded anal fin and blues have flat ones. That's the only thing you need to differentiate between blues and channels.

7. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State: