Speaking of fishing lines, I'd like your thoughts

Discussion in 'Fishing Line Review' started by Sunburn, Jun 16, 2008.

1. Sunburn

Sunburn New Member

State:
    Williamsto
    on what you guys like best. For about all my catfishing I still use Mono. I'm also a sucker for Bass Pro Shops stuff. I've never bought anything from them that I didn't like and their line comes with a 100% satisfaction warranty. If you don't like it, they'll give you your dough back. Hard to beat that. I like clear blue flourescent so I can see it in the black lights on my boat at night. I see a lot of hits with that set up before I hear or feel them. 20lb test seems about right for me. I buy the big 2250 yard spools for about $20 and change line often. Fishing from a boat most of the time I can chase a really big fish before breaking him off. I guess that's why they make all different kinds of stuff, not all of us like the same things. I'd like to hear what type of line, what size (lb test) line you use and why. Thanks for your time.

2. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I run 30 and 40lb. Berkely Big Game mosty. I own numerous poles for each situation. I prefer the 30lb. on the 6500 Garicas and the 6000 models. I have two 10000 Big Game Garicas I run 40lb. on . These have more stout rods, and I fish bigger baits closer to the boat on these usually. When I lake fish, I run Power Pro 65lb. on my other 6500 and 6000. I like the braid for castability reasons. But, on the river.... I don't like braid for flathead fishing! Some complain about the stretch of monos, but they simply hold up better in heavy structure.... rollo

3. feetdown

feetdown New Member

State:
    ohio
    I agree..I run 40lb Big Game mono on all my reels matched with a 50-60lb mono leader

4. catfish kenny

catfish kenny New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I have several diffrent set ups and I use power pro braid & mono-I like to be universal bank or boat .They all are good if using em right.