South Carolina Rivers Question

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by catfishjoey, Aug 27, 2009.

1. catfishjoey

catfishjoey New Member

State:
    VA/OK
    Hi, I'm new to South Carolina; I just moved down from Richmond where I've spent a lot of time pursuing big blues and flatheads on the James River. I was wondering which rivers near the charleston area hold big blues and/or flatheads? Any information would help...

Also I've always caught my flatheads on live bream but I've been reading posts and it seems like cut-bait is the way to go around here? Correct me if I'm wrong...

Thanks guys!

2. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Welcome to SC. During the winter, the Winyah Bay (lower Pee Dee and lower Waccamaw rivers) area holds some nice blues. Our first cast of '09 on Jan 2nd yielded a 51 pound blue on the lower Waccamaw. The Cooper river is bound to have many monster cats in there, but to my knowledge, no one here on the forum ever reports much positive info from the Cooper. If I lived there, I would be constantly searching the Cooper until I had it figured out. You mention rivers, but don't forget the granddaddy of all catfish lakes, the Santee-Cooper. Lakes Marion and Moultrie hold some of the finest blues and flatties in the country. Coming from the James, you are probably plenty spoiled, and you will have to work harder to consistently land comparable trophies on the SC rivers. I hope to hit the James for a few days sometime this fall. As for bait, cut and live both work well, and don't ignore the eels that folks here have such great success on. Bream, shad, herring, shiners, eels, bullheads, carp, etc. are all excellent bait choices. We caught the big blue at the bay on fresh cut mullet. You didn't mention what type of boat you had. Boat fishing sure gets you in 'em a heap better than bank fishin'.

Bill in SC

Last edited: Aug 27, 2009

3. matt22va

matt22va New Member

State:
    Kingsland, Ga
    Joey,