some help please?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by outlawtrucker, Nov 7, 2008.

1. outlawtrucker

outlawtrucker New Member

State:
    missouri
    i have been cattin for a couple of years now and really want to get serious about it. i can't be on the water all the time because i'm a truck driver but i do want to catch some big fish. actually that's not true. i would like to gain the experience needed to put my wife into some BIG fish. she generally catches em bigger than i do anyway.

anyway i'm planning on taking a vacation for a week in (god forgive me) july and was wondering where i should go. i plan on bringing the camper and i do have a boat that i can bring along.

mostly round home i throw out some jugs and catch channels in the 3-5lb range but i'm looking to step that up to 15-20lb fish or better.

if any1 has any suggestions they would be appreciated. i live in La Plata,MO.

2. dademoss

dademoss Member

State:
    Ohio
    I'd love to help, but the big fish run in fear from me:smile2:

Thats my story and I am sticking to it.

Good luck though, and I am sure some of the local guys will chime in and set you in the right direction.

3. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Not sure where La Plata,MO. is. Welcome to the BOC.

4. Catfish_Commando

Catfish_Commando TF Staff Member

State:
    Georgia
    Rob,

Check out the Member Library real quick. That will help to provide a base plan of attack.

Then you can come back and ask specific questions geared toward a problem area.

A quick answer is to size up the bait in warmer periods and size down in cooler. Fresh cut bait will normally outperform store bought baits for size of catfish caught.

Do you fish from bank or boat?

Do you prefer rivers, lakes, or ponds?

5. catoon

catoon Board Clown!

State:
    whiteville
    you can come to pick wick hit me up .do you have a boat ?

6. patrickgd

patrickgd New Member

State:
    Memphis TN