So no on the baitcaster clicker? And what is a good set-up?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by Wvawitrado, Jul 29, 2008.

1. Wvawitrado

Wvawitrado New Member

State:
    California, Fresno
    So you guys lean more towards no on the clicker...The cats that I fish hit hard real hard I usually dont even hookset...Im using trebles should I be using something else? Im trying to get a new combo with a baitcaster any suggestions? Also I am new to catfishing but I always set my drags loose and they take line in a quickness is that not the same as a bait clicker couldnt he still release the bait?:eek:oooh:

2. kathunter_64

kathunter_64 New Member

State:
    Virginia
    lose the trebles. they can really mess up a fish & they get hung on snags easily. i say circle hooks for sure if your on a boat with good rod holders.

and if your wanting a baitcaster. abu garcia has some really nice ones. go to walmart and check out the 6600 combos. i used to use the 65's when i fished tournaments & i loved them. and i plan on buying 5 or 6 6600's when i get the money. im gettin tired of the okuma spinnin reels haha

3. scooter079

scooter079 New Member

State:
    ohio
    loose the treble hooks for sure i never even have much luck with them anyway and when it comes to your set up what exactly are you fishing for and are you boat or bank fishing river or lake there are several variables

4. Wvawitrado

Wvawitrado New Member

State:
    California, Fresno
    I am from a pretty decent sized boat 18' I am getting rodholders today any tips? what size hooks and circle? baitclicker? loosen drag what technique? how much is a typical good set up?

5. runabout199

runabout199 New Member

State:
    Cartersville, G