Snares

Discussion in 'Trapping & Fur Taking' started by TX Fisherman, Feb 21, 2007.

1. TX Fisherman

TX Fisherman New Member

State:
    Texas
    I am about to buy some snares for racoons, and i am gonna put them under a game fence, where i see trails, how should i set them up, i have never used snares before?

2. primitivefrn

primitivefrn Member

State:
    collins mo
    Kevin, on a open trail a 6 by 6 should work on coons a under fence crossing,

you may, not be able to get, that high, (with a larger loop, you will have more,
    body catches but you will have the coon,) I use a 8 by 8 on cats and still catch a few coons, Thats a 8 inch loop, 8 inches high, off ground. Getting to late in season now coons will be rubbed,
    Get you, a book on snareing, Its fun, and it works. Hope this helps.
    Jim

3. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    a 6" snare circle works great for coon an 8 for cats and fox an I like a 10-12 for coyotes the best thing with snares I like is you can haul a bunch way back in an areaand they are light and dont take a lot of space

4. TX Fisherman

TX Fisherman New Member

State:
    Texas
    when u buy a snare can u change the size of the loop? and how do u position the snare a little of the ground or what?

-thanks for the info :smile2:

5. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Snares come preformed with a button on one end and a loop with a swivel on the other you can make the loop as small or as large as you like depending on the LENGTH of the snare wire they are sold as to type ie.24"30" 36" 42"etc you set a snare so that the target animal walks through the loop and the optimun hope is a neck catch which will quickly choke the animal

6. justwannano

justwannano Active Member

State:
    SE Iowa
    Depends a lot on where you are setting them.
    If tex laws allow it I'd just hook the top of the loop onto the fence.You can use a twist tie.