Snagging Effects

Discussion in 'ILLINOIS RIVERS TALK' started by John(Bullhead)Hagen, Feb 9, 2008.

1. John(Bullhead)Hagen

John(Bullhead)Hagen New Member

State:
    ILLinois
    :angry:Last fall while up on the Ill. River below the Lock at Peoria i watched as 4 Flat Heads around 15 to 25 pounds were snagged by different boats.The DNR was running around so they were jerked into there boats and then released.What has got me upset and the only reason it took me this long to rant and rave is i studied up a little before making up my opinon.These fish were snaged in the belly tail and sides,and after looking at the size of the snaging hook the chance of dieing is allmost a sure thing.I think that if we are going to have snaging then it should be from the bank only,as this will cut back alot as most can not get near the dams and locks by bank.The sad part of this is they are not fishermen they are snaging for asian carp and doing it only for that but the Flatthead suffer.If i am wrong about the death of these prime fish let me know,but to me this may be leagle but it is ten times worse than just eating one.Thank You John

2. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    As always , its legal but not a good thing, I'm with ya on this and it would upset me also.

It would be nice to cast across them snagging lines,. and Power Pro usually works really good. I know that's the wrong attitude but if they are willing to be stupid.....so am I.

3. catfishcrazy256

catfishcrazy256 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I AGREE JOHN ITS A BAD DEAL

4. jdstraka

jdstraka Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Name:
    John
    10/4 on the Bad Deal John!!! It Upsets Me also, But as stated above It's Legal,But that Dosen't mean We have to like it!! J.D.:sad2:

5. Goofy

Goofy Member

State:
    Moline, Illinois