Smallmouth bass

Discussion in 'Bass Fishing' started by gatortail, Nov 13, 2008.

1. gatortail

gatortail New Member

State:
    tennessee
    can anyone help me with small mouth and can they be caught in the winter plz help im a catfisherman.wanna learn something new.

2. Pastor E

Pastor E New Member

State:
    Beebe AR
    :smile2:I'm not an expert but yes you can catch them in the winter in the winter I have aways had better luck in small rivers or creeks here in Ar theres nothing wrong with trying to inprove your knowage

3. CountryHart

CountryHart New Member

State:
    missouri
    The biggest smallmouth i've caught is in the fall and winter in the deep clear lakes we have here. Green pumpkin gig/pig usually gets it done. The bite on beaver lake is on spinner baits in the brush or crank baits on chunk rock banks now.

4. gatortail

gatortail New Member

State:
    tennessee
    thanks fellas ive caught a bunch of bass in my life but ther is an art to it and i will work on it.i like this part of the sight and i will be sending pics lol

5. bw69r

bw69r Well-Known Member

State:
    West Newton, PA
    hit the deep holes if you are fishing a river. crrek chubs work great. a white gitzit works great too.

6. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN

Gatortail, how's the fishing going brother. I don't know anything about smallmouth bass, but wanted to take the opportunity to say hey!! Look forward to seeing you again. I will be on the water in a couple of weeks

7. gatortail

gatortail New Member

State:
    tennessee
    brother ive got my boat open som when u get were on the water.:big_smile:

8. jolie

jolie New Member

State:
    PA
    Smallmouth, Where Do I begin?

One thought, in the winter look for the warmest water possible! I work at a refinery and have permission to fish a warm water outlet. That spot gets absolutely loaded with smallies in the winter.

Jason

9. slowjamcdub

slowjamcdub New Member

State: