small baits big flatheads

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by flathunter, Jul 17, 2008.

1. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have never caught a flathead on a big bait, ever.
    I have been fishing for flatheads many years and caught some real nice fish.

I am not bragging, I may only take a couple of what I call trophys a year, and many fish 25-lbs and under.

I get skunked probably more than I catch fish, so I aint no expert by any means, but I can remember every flathead over 38-lbs I have caught and remember the bait..I keep a log of my catches..so here is some info.

2002-50lb flathead on a small chunk of frozen shad
    2008-45-lb flathead on a small piece of fresh sahd
    2007-42 -lb flathead on a tail of a small sha
    2007-40 -lb flathead on a small shad head
    2007 38-lb flathead on a live 3 inch shad that died when I put it on the hook
    2006-36-lb flathead on a tiny shad head no bigger that a quater

And the list just goes on and on, I know alot of you guys catch bigole fish on huge live baits, but I must be a misfit cause I cant do it.

My first trophy flathead came way back in 1988 it weighed 40-lbs and was caught on a 3 inch bluegill.

and alot of my fish are caught in the daytime...Everything I do goes aginst the grain of catching big flatheads...I dont get it.

And most of my fish come form areas where there is not that much structure.

Am I insane:smile2: Am I making this up? I swear to god I am not.

I have tried the traditional way of flathead fishing, fising in heavy timber, fishing big lively baits, fishing all night long, the just dont produce for me..maybe it is just the river I fish I dont know I dont think I have ever caught a flathead later than 1am...I have caught more at high noon than at dusk.

Is it cause I am a bank fisherman? and only fish one spot at a time? I cant figure it out.