Small baitcaster

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by kyjake, Dec 4, 2009.

1. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    What are some of the better small baitcasters with line capacity of around 100 yards or so,could be smaller?Cost is an object because I am a tightwad.
    Jake

2. Slatebar

Slatebar New Member

State:
    ohio
    Jake I have a cousin who has fished with a couple Abu 5000's for as long as I can remember. And he catches some good size cats too. Good little reels and I see them on eBay selling pretty reasonable.

3. motard1

motard1 New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    Zebco 202.

4. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    Don't know what you're fishin' for, but, Daiwa makes some little ones for slingin' lures..
    Abu Garcia, has the 4600 series which are diminutive but, stout little reels..

5. festus

festus New Member

I have an Ambassaduer Royal Express and an Ambassadeur 5000C. The Royal Express is smaller than the 5000, but it doesn't list the line capacity. It has a 6.3/1 retrieve ratio. The 5000C holds 195 yds of 12 pound test, and 180 yds. of 14 pound test. I have 15 lb. test Big Game line on it and it works fine. You'd probably like the Royal Express better. It has the smaller spool you desire.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2009
  6. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    Have plenty reels for catfishing,Penn's and Abu's including several 5000's.Looking for one much smaller,even smaller than the Abu4600.I hate the thumb bar on reels like the Abu 6600 but really like the ones on one small reel I tried out.Will be using it to throw small jigs less than 1/4 oz.
    Jake

7. festus

festus New Member