Slow fishing from 1-5 am in Michigan

Discussion in 'LOCAL MICHIGAN TALK' started by jspiel, Jun 3, 2006.

1. jspiel

jspiel New Member

State:
    comstock park michigan
    this thread refers to the "slow bite times" when night fishing for flatheads.
    Almost everything i have read in the journals, heard discussed around catfish campfires, and seen right here on the BOC seem to agree that between 1 and 5 AM the bite really slows down for flatheads. I have been mulling this over in my little pea brain for several months, and have decided that this is neither logical nor should it be accepted as fact. My reasons behind my theory are simple and few:

When we setup for a night of flattie fishing we tend to station ourselves close to their daytime lairs, so we can get them as they first become active. this period of time does not last that long, before they are gone to their hunting grounds. usually by mid-night or 1:00 o'clock. they spend the next few hours stuffing themselves on whatever tasty morsal the choose, then head home for the obligitory after dinner nap, usually some time around 5:00 am.

Could we stretch out the nights success if we concentrated our efforts on the Flathead's hunting grounds?

I feel fairly confident in my saying that on very few occasions do more than one jumbo flattie occupy a single lair. however i am also confident that most, if not all the flatties in a given area will share the hunting grounds during most any given night.

Of course, the trick is to find the prime hunting grounds that will hold the most attraction to the most flatties.

OK guys, i have said my piece, go ahead and tear my theory to shreds. I know i don't have nearly the catfishing experience that 90% of you do, but i do think i could be right.

Let the arguements begin.............LOL

2. dreamer34

dreamer34 New Member

State:
    danville virginia
    man ...i'm not gonna argue with that...if they ain't at home then they must be shopping

3. dreamcatcher