Slow Cooker Sketti Sauce

Discussion in 'The BOC Diner' started by Catgirl, Jan 14, 2008.

1. Catgirl

Catgirl New Member

I've been making my own homemade spaghetti sauce for 25 years, as I know a lot of you folks have. None of that bottled stuff for me, just threw in a handful of this and that and it always turned out good. Couple years ago I found this recipe. It sounded similar to mine, so I tried it. DELICIOUS. I've tweaked it a bit over time, plus I add some sliced mushrooms occasionally towards the end of the cooking process. Try it, you'll like it.

1 lb. ground beef
    1 lb. bulk Italian sausage (hot or mild - you can use Italian turkey sausage for a lower fat version. If links are all you can find, just remove the casings.)
    1 medium green pepper, chopped
    1 medium onion, chopped
    8 garlic cloves, minced
    2 cans (28 oz. each) Italian diced tomatoes (Sometimes I sub a 28 oz. can crushed Italian tomatoes for one of these.)
    1 can (28 oz.) tomato sauce
    1 can (12 oz.) tomato paste
    1 tablespoon sugar
    2 tablespoons Italian seasoning
    1 tablespoon dried basil
    1 teaspoon dried marjoram
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/2 teaspoon pepper

In a large skillet over medium heat, cook beef and sausage, breaking into small pieces, until no longer pink; drain. Transfer to a 5-qt. slow cooker. Stir in remaining ingredients; mix well. Cover and cook on low approximately 8 hours (less if your crockpot is really hot) or until bubbly. Serve over your pasta of choice - I like whole wheat vermicelli. Yield: 12 servings

Note to the BOC bachelors (the ones who think they CAN'T cook): This is easy and foolproof. If you don't have a big slow cooker, you can make it on the stove. Just make sure it's a VERY large saucepan or dutch oven and cook over low heat for the afternoon. Hopefully you'll have invited "her" over for dinner, guarantee you she'll be impressed. If not, it's enough to feed a bunch of your buddies :big_smile:.

2. catfisherman60