Skipjack

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by catman529, Oct 19, 2006.

1. catman529

catman529 New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    I have read that skipjack are caught mostly below dams. Is this true? Let me know how you get bait. Thanks

2. Clovis

Clovis New Member

State:
    Paris Tennessee
    I would be interested to know also.

And are they hard to keep alive once you catch them compared to shad for instance?

I'm a Baitfish beginner.

Thanks,
    Steve

3. turtle1173

turtle1173 New Member

State:
    Mayfield, KY
    Skipjack love fast highly oxygenated water. That's one of the reasons why dams are a great place to catch them. There's no dams in my area but we still catch them around the tips of the dikes.

No one I know even tries to keep them alive because they die so fast. Shad stay alive much better than skips do, in comparison.

We use a series of crappie jigs (usually 3) tied about a foot apart on a light rod to catch skips. I use 15-20 lb test line to catch them with. Sabiki rigs also work great and I will usually put a small spoon on the bottom of it to use as weight. I usually take 1 rod rigged each way when I go out. Sometimes they show a preference for one or the other.

They are a blast to catch and there's nothing like catching 3 big ones at the same time! That's the reason you need to use a little heavier line :tounge_out:

4. kat in the hat

kat in the hat New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I have never tried to catch skippies either. I am gonna be fishing the Missouri river this weekend, and as of now all I have as bait is live perch, and I don't know if I will be able to catch shad right now. Are these fish fairly common, or could it take all day to catch the bait? Would shad be in their regular spots but deeper? I see shad all over in lakes, and have no problem netting them, but didn't see many on the river this summer.

5. SkiMax

SkiMax New Member

State:
    Rising Sun, IN