Size of boat 4 the mississppi and missouri

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by skinner, Jul 22, 2007.

1. skinner

skinner New Member

State:
    missouri
    Hi,all Newbie here my buddy got me in to night fishing on the missouri and mississippi rivers. We catch some but no monsters well not enuff, so i was wondering if you guys could help me out. No no i don't want to know where your spots are unless you want to tell me. HA HA Back to the question, What is to small of a boat for the mississippi and misouri river? Would like some of your thoughts if you don't mind.

thanks
    Skinner (aka, Scott):cool2:

2. MoMudCat

MoMudCat New Member

State:
    Troy,MO
    Hi Scott,
    I fish from an 18 foot boat on the Mississippi. I am very comfortable with this boat on the river. The only time I got nervous is when I had a hook out below L&D 25 and they opened the next gate over to wash out some trash. Got a pucker factor of about 6 on that one.

Attached Files:

3. cubedweller

cubedweller New Member

State:
    MO
    "cirrhosis of the river"...ROFLMAO...is that the name of your vessel?

4. RIVER-RAT

RIVER-RAT New Member

State:
    MO / MT
    Just depends on the individual I guess, what size boat does your buddy have? I've been out in an 1872 SeaArk and I have a 20 SeaArk. I personally wouldn't feel comfortable in anything smaller than an 18 footer, but I think that's because I am a rather large individual and most of my friends are as well, that's why I purchased a larger size boat. I also enjoy taking my three year old daughter out with me, and my boat has deep sides to help preventing her from falling out. But then again this is JMO :wink:

5. MoMudCat

MoMudCat New Member

State:
    Troy,MO
    Yep! I admit I didn't come up with it myself, but if fit perfect for me so there it is.:big_smile:

6. BKS72

BKS72 New Member

State:
    East of KC