Sinker Slides

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Katmandeux, Aug 29, 2007.

1. Katmandeux

Katmandeux New Member

State:
    Checotah, Oklahoma
    I've never used them before, but they seem like a good idea, so I ordered some from Cabela's.

They have a little plastic tee on the slide, just opposite the snap...anybody know what that's for?

Oh, wait...is it for half-hitching the line, so it won't slide?

2. Gordhawk

Gordhawk New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I haven't used sinker slides that long myself,but really like them so far. You're right about the little plastic tee on the slide,if you want to hold your sinker in one spot on your line,then just wrap your line around that tee and it will stay in that one spot.

3. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Sinker slides work great and can handle some large sinkers.Take small elect slip ties and run through large sinkers and then onto the slide clip. Catfish connection also carrys them in bulk. I hope this helps.:big_smile:

4. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia
    Hook your baited hook on the"T".It is to keep your terminal tackle from "Windmilling/helicoptering" when casting which causes tangles.your bait falls free when hitting the water.A little practice getting use to it casting and you save bait and your bait is not caught or wrapped in your sinker.Try it before you laugh.This is what it was made for.Many slides do not have it.It is far more popular with coastal surf casters world wide.I love you Brothers and sisters.peewee

5. canebreaker

canebreaker Well-Known Member

State:
    Southaven,MS
    There was a post on how to make your own,
    Place a swivel on a tube and twist it down.
    Since I was using a straw to keep bait up and out
    of the way, I made my sinker slides a foot long,
    with the swivel at top end.

6. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia