Shimano Cardiff ?'s

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Rottdog, Mar 3, 2007.

1. Rottdog

Rottdog New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hello everyone,
    I am still pretty new at catfishing, I started last summer, I bought a Shimano Cardiff 200A and then went back a couple of months later and bought a Cardiff 400A. I was curious what you all thought about those two reels for catfishing. I primarily fish off the banks at lakes, however I would like to do a little big cat fishing off the banks of the Missouri this year.

Thanks to everyone in advance for their opinions on this matter.
    Garrett

2. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    I think they is good reels, but I pefer Abu.

3. primitivefrn

primitivefrn Member

State:
    collins mo
    The 400, should handel anything, you hook,
    Ihave a 400, just bought it late last summer, Avery smooth reel the only thing I seen might have me wondering I pop a side plate and looked at gears quite a bit of plastic their . This might not hurt if It holds havent put mine to test yet come to think of it I havent tested anything very much here lately
    Jim

4. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    Good reels, just a bit pricey compared to an Abu 6500. I just bought a Shimano Tr200, holds 300 yards of 20 lb test, very smooth casting. Its a lot less than the Cardiff, but appears to be of very good quality.

5. EricM

EricM Active Member

State:
    Cleveland TN