Sharpness of Circle Hooks

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by alands94, Dec 10, 2005.

1. alands94

alands94 Active Member

State:
    Lebanon, I
    Hello,
    I have never used circle hooks before and I received my first order of Mustad and Eagle Claw Lazer Sharp 6/0 circle hooks. They do not feel very sharp. Granted, I am used to using much smaller hooks (#2 - 1/0 Kahle). Do all of you find that the circle hooks are sharp enough as-is, or do you need to sharpen them before fishing? Thanks!

2. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have found that the eagle claw circle hooks dont seem that sharp out of the package..I use gamakatsu octopus circles and they are extremly sharp right out of the package.

3. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    Sharpness is the main concern with every hook but with circles it is of extreme importance. It is the one thing that allows the hook to work efectively due to the fact that ya aren't rarein back on it to set it. As mentioned Gamakatsu is a good very sharp hook.

4. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    VMC and Owner circles seem as sharp as any circle hooks. Haven't used the Owner, but the VMC hooks have given no problems. If you read the package on Eagle Claw Lazer Sharp hooks, I believe it'll tell you not to sharpen the hook. I only use that company's Kahle hooks and few small J hooks.

5. joesf

joesf New Member

State:
    Bloomington IL
    As for all hooks I have always use the fingernail test. If you put the point of the hook against your nail and it slides it's to dull if it catches its sharp. Any hook that you are relying on the fish to catch himself has to be very sharp.

6. Abu

Abu New Member

State:
    Hemlock,Ohio