share a message to Vets

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by fwmud, Nov 13, 2005.

1. fwmud

fwmud New Member

State:
    Wilson's Mills,nc
    I meant to post this earlier,but didn't.
    I'm hoping this will be only a collection of thoughts and such. Not a post to argue and bicker on.
    As many of you know, I went back to working for a living again.(insert laugh)
    I live about 40 miles from where i'm working. Friday morning as I was driving to Raleigh,I was watching the sunrise. I began to watch it and it was a glorious one at that. I always leave early,so I had plenty of time so I pulled off the side of the 2 lane road to watch it all.
    As this was Veterans day, thoughts began to creap into my head. I began to ponder the ones who had gone before me and those who will have to go after me.My family,like so many other families,is full of vets. Tracing my personal history back,we've had members in every war since the 1600's. Being a veteran myself,I would have loved to had the day off as so many others did. But, as I've told Jim, "Only those with a real job,get those holidays off"
    We have so many Vets here on this site,some still serving today in Iraq and Afganistan. We all get caught up in the hoopla of our own lives, feelings on politics,religion, and any and everything else under the sun.
    Sometimes we don't just stop and smell the roses.
    This is just a simple little way (long as it might be) to say thanks to all the vets here and abroad, for doing your duty,in peacetime and during war.
    We all here support you.
    Some in a broad sense of the word,others more subtle. I believe we all have the same desires and goals at heart,disagree as we may.
    I lost a few close friends while in and I'm sure there are many more stories and names that should be said.
    Even though it's over, the day will always belong to veterans in my mind.
    God bless our troops and help them gain victory and come home soon.