Setting the drag

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by georgiamike, Oct 11, 2006.

1. georgiamike

georgiamike New Member

State:
    Texas
    How do you guys set your drag? I know how to set the dial on the reel, what I mean is how do you know how tight to set it, of course I know to set it so the drag will release before the line breaks but do you take the pole into consideration?

2. vlparrish

vlparrish New Member

State:
    Bedford, Kentucky
    Mike, I have always set my drag by feel. I really don't have a set method. But usually set it at a medium resistance. I like it a bit light so I can adjust according to the fish without having a chance of him breaking me off. I have been using the same line for the last ten years so that helps get a "feel" for the setting that is best. Vern

3. ka_c4_boom

ka_c4_boom New Member

State:
    Bedford,Ky
    some have said to place your hook on a bucket of water the weight of the fish you plan to catch and give the rod a jerk upward if the drag doesnt slip adjust till it does

some also say hook your scale to the line and set the drag at 80% of the line weight , example 20# line drag slip at 17#

mine is set at about 30# my line is 30# and i adjust after the fish is hooked

4. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    The way I've been taught is to set the drag at 1/3 the line test weight. The rod adds drag to the line. After the fish is on, you can put more drag on with the star drag, assuming your reel has one, or the drag on the front or rear of your spinning reel. To tight of a drag is the cause of much line breakage.

5. screamnclickersc

screamnclickersc New Member

State:
    S.C.
    I put my rods in the holders & hook a small scale to the hook & pull down till the drag gives.You can watch the scale & tell excatly when it gives.I use 30lb test & set it to give around 8lbs.-I can just about set them by feel also.

6. photocat

photocat New Member

State:
    HOCO, Maryland