Setting Jugs on Rend

Discussion in 'LOCAL ILLINOIS TALK' started by Kojak, Jul 21, 2008.

1. Kojak

Kojak New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I was thinking of making up about 30 or so jugs to set up at Rend in the next couple weeks. This will be my first time jugging...god I love having a boat. Anyway, I am wanting to catch a flatty. I need some advise on where to put the jugs. I plan on going early enough to catch some gills and shad, gonna bait half and half. Any ideas on where to start out. Ill probly also be pole fishing in the general vicinity of where I put the jugs so I don't really want to go somewhere I am going to tear my boat up after dark.

2. howards

howards Member

State:
    IL.
    At night close to shore or on the mud flats..in the day time in deeper water of say 10 feet or more.

3. bwhupp

bwhupp New Member

State:
    Belleville
    I'd love to help but I am still learning Rend... I don't know how to fish it well enough... can't spend as much time as I like to on that lake due to the distance. 2 hours one way is too much to just do some fishing.

4. catinaldatime

catinaldatime New Member

State:
    Girard, IL
    go in the stump fields on the north end,cant say for sure thats where u will pull a flathead,but deerhunter 4 and i spent 2 dayz in the stump fields,well we ended up with some nice channel,if ur gonna use that shad be careful if u put them on whole most of the time u will check the juggs to rebate and only the guts will be gone,cut the head off and hook it right above the gut pocket for a good hook set.if u use bluegill,try to throw them on live but set them juggs a hair deeper than ur other ones,like i said i cant promise anything but from experience thats what i would do,good luck and get u a nice one brother.tell Dylan i said hi.

5. big-muddy

big-muddy New Member

State:
    norfolk, va