Set the hook?

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by freshbaitrules, Dec 3, 2008.

1. freshbaitrules

freshbaitrules New Member

State:
    virginia
    I know this sounds kind of like a dumb question, however I am still pretty new to this pig hunting. When I take friends that havent been before they ask me questions and sometimes simple ones that I really dont have the answers to.
    My buddy this weekend asked one I have heard before and I thought I would ask it to the BOC.
    I would like to preface it with, I have heard that with circle hooks, people say the fish hook themselves.

So my question to the brain trust is: Do you set the hook?

If the rod is bent over in the rod holder do you still set the hook?

If a little pecker is pulling, tugging, yanking; set the hook?

I have grown up bass fishing and plastic worm fishing is all about setting the hook. Hard habit to break.

2. mbandjb

mbandjb New Member

State:
    Central Va
    Hey Jeff,
    I leave the rod in the holder and have the drag set so its kinda tight to pull off by hand.When a fish pulls it down the rod will load up.8 outa 10 time the fish will hook its self in the corner of its month when using otopus circle hooks Then take the rod out and just pull
    back in a sweeping motion.Sometimes you don't even have to use the sweeping motion.
    mikeb

3. FATFLATTIE

FATFLATTIE New Member

State:
    ILM, NC
    I've been having some trouble hooking up myself and I think that my problem is grabbing the rod too early before the rod loads up. I much prefer using clickers and J-hooks, but in the river there's just too much current to use the clickers. I guess I need to start fishing kale hooks and see if that helps.

4. Snagged2

Snagged2 New Member

State:
    Verde Valley AZ
    I've switched to Kahles,, The fish can hook himself, or you can..

5. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro