Self Setting Circle Hooks : Circle Hook fishing Tips

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by zappaf19, Dec 13, 2005.

1. zappaf19

zappaf19 New Member

State:
    Monticello,IN
    I have read where they say circle hooks set themselves. true/false ? If I have my bait in cheese cloth on a circle hook will the hook still set itself?
    I am still learning this skill. More qustion to follow. :confused:
    Bill

2. Swampy

Swampy New Member

State:
    Fl.
    Yes they are self setting hooks.

With a circle hook you want the point of the hook to be free and clear. If it's inbeded in the bait it won't be able to set it's self.

Hope that helps.

3. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    dont pick up the rod till it's loaded up..Or at least if you pick the rod up let it bend down hard before doing anything, this will set the hook.

4. LilRyjoe04

LilRyjoe04 New Member

State:
    Indianapolis,Indiana
    Jack is right. You have to make sure your pole is not set on free spool, this is the most important part of the self setting process! Just wait till you see your pole bow down and the fish will be on there. Once you see it bend down, you can simply pick up the pole and start reeling. Do Not try and set the Hook. This will pull the hook out of the fishes mouth most of the time. Sometimes you will see your line go very loose and gain slack after it bows down, don't worry the catfish is on there but realizes it can't run away so it is coming toward you. Hope this helps. When you start to reel, hold your reel at a 45 degree angle. Good Luck!

P.S.- Make sure you have good rod holders if you are going for fat flatties or you might lose your pole if you are not paying attention. ;)

5. river scum

river scum New Member

State:
    hooterville indiana
    they do work like said. i have been fighting the no set thing and still dont have the restraint. lol, the hook set thing is a hard habit to break brother!

6. Mr. Catfish

Mr. Catfish Member

State: