Sea King 35HP

Discussion in 'Bubba's Outboards' started by Snobal, Jan 7, 2006.

1. Snobal

Snobal New Member

State:
    Canton, OH
    Anyone tell me how hard it would be to change a crankshaft? I have a 1970 Wards Sea King 35HP. It ran great till the crank snapped 2 years ago and sent the flywheel into the boat with me :eek: . Thanks for any info!!

2. cook

cook New Member

State:
    Plattsburg,Mo.(near K.C.)
    Sounds like its FUBAR.Old motor=hard to get parts.
    Could be a lot more damage,why did the shaft break?
    Since you asked how hard it is,I will assume you have never done it before,so I would say yes,its hard.
    Sounds like its time to buy another motor.

I'm no expert,but I did drive by a holiday inn express yesterday. ;)

3. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Cook, I couldn't have said it better. There should be more Holiday Inn Expreses in this world. That's how I got my start after joining the BOC :p

Joe, yeah it's a major problem, even if you could afford to do it.

The cost alone would make a big down payment on a new engine.

4. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    Snobal I have a link where you most likely can get that old of a parts but as was stated in the other two post it is tedious work and the cost would floor you.

5. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    Weren't the Sea King motors made by Chrysler? They look similar. Might look for a same model motor that has cratered and take the part from it.

6. Snobal

Snobal New Member

State:
    Canton, OH