Scroll Saw for Christmas

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by SSG Johnson, Dec 26, 2005.

1. SSG Johnson

SSG Johnson New Member

State:
    Saint Robert Missouri
    Christmas day brought me a New Scroll saw the only problem is I havent ever used a scroll saw befor in my life. Does anybody here use scroll saws and can you tell me where to start. I have looked on line and have found many patterns but I am a novice at best as I just figuered out how to turn it on......LOL

2. fish

fish Active Member

State:
    ChattanoogaTenn
    Hey Chuck, congratulations on the new scrollsaw. Pete Kildow (Shilohred) does some of the most beautiful scroll work I have seen. There are a bunch of sites online that you can go to chat about scrolling and find all kind of patterns. What kind of scrollsaw did you get? Pete's saw is a Dewalt and talk about smooth running. Mine is a Delta but I haven't had a chance to practice with it yet either.

3. SSG Johnson

SSG Johnson New Member

State:
    Saint Robert Missouri
    The wife got me a Dremel 1680 I cant wait to find something to use it on she wants a shelf and I think I will try and scroll the bottem brackets with the saw I cant wait. Ive looked on the web and found some beatiful pieces that some others have made I had no idea what could be made with this saw. I cant wait to get started.

4. Dano

Dano New Member

State:
    Texas
    Just keep your finger out of the way. LOL. :cursing:

5. Cyclops01

Cyclops01 New Member

State:
    Eden, NC.
    Chuck,

To make your new learning experience go a bit smoother, work with soft woods, use light pressure moving into the blade and, buy SEVERAL packs of blades!!!

If you're not already familure with them, check out "Woodcraft" on-line. They have almost everything a woodworker needs, including howto books and plans.

And don't forget the great advice from Santa Dano... "you'll lop a finger off kid". :eek:

Mike

6. ShilohRed

ShilohRed New Member

State:
    West Tn