Saturday

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by joshdd, Jan 8, 2010.

1. joshdd

joshdd New Member

State:
    Fairfax VA
    Hi guys,
    I've been reading this board the past few months but this is my first time positing. This forum is a fantastic resource. I'm historically a bass fisherman but have just recently been getting into catfishing. Me and a buddy are coming down to try the James out of Deep Bottom on Saturday and hopefully get into some of those big cats we have been seeing posted here. I see there is a tourney going on in that area as well.

...Anyways I really hate to be a beggar... but if anyone pulls in too much bait when they dip their net and will be fishing up in the deep bottom area, and feels like dontating some to a couple non-tournament anglers it would be GREATY appriciated. I have a gill net on order but it does not look like it will arrive on time. I also have a small cast net, but we did not have much luck with that the one other trip we went to the James. We will be in a 14' camo jon boat. We're not asking anyone to go out of their way (especially during a tournment), but if things worked out it would really help us.

Just out of curiousity, what size livewell do you guys use for tournaments? I would imagine they would have to be huge. Is that something you have to manufacture yourself?

Good luck to everyone out there tomorrow!

2. Bomberman

Bomberman New Member

State:
    Spring Run, PA
    Josh,
    First off, welcome to the board. Secondly, please be very careful out there in that 14' Jon boat...the water can get really rough in a heartbeat and a Jon boat is not known for its rough water handling abilities. These cold water temps are nothing to mess with...just be careful and don't press anything.