Running with GPS in the Fog?

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by Capt. Darryl Smith, Jan 3, 2009.

1. Capt. Darryl Smith

Capt. Darryl Smith New Member

State:
    SC
    I have been running by GPS since 2000. Matter of fact I believe my Lowrance Graphs are the second most important piece of equipment on my boat, only second to a boat motor. I use primarily my Lowrance 113 CHD color graph with a X-16 CI backup. A GPS is a remarkable tool. It allows you to see where on earth you are no matter day, night, raining hard or so foggy you cannot see the front of your boat.
    From where I use one a GPS almost everyday I have learned it will show you the way out there and back. But never rely only on a GPS. Also have a map, and a compose on your boat and ALWAYS know where you are at on the lake incase of lose of power or electronic failure! KNOW how to navigate by compose just incase. THINGS HAPPEN!
    Now remember a GPS show you where on earth you are, but it does not show you what is in front of you that you are about too HIT!
    When learning how to run by GPS I recommend that always when you are on the water running on clear days to use your GPS along with your eyesight and it will help to orientate yourself on how it works.
    Now here is the important part. It shows you where you are at, But when running by GPS never run faster than you can see far enough out in front of you safely. If you cannot see past the front of the boat you do not need to be there! But if you can see 50 feet never run faster than if you see something that you cannot stop the boat in 1/3rd the distance. Just remember, you may have a boat coming at you. So RUN SLOW. So if the two of you are playing chicken, You need that triple distance to avoid a wreck. Also if faced with this dilemma, Always turn to your right just like on a state paved highway.
    Be careful and make it back home to love ones.