Rod setup help

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by slimer1, Mar 30, 2008.

1. slimer1

slimer1 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I'm new to lake and river catfish rod and reel fishing. My rods are medium to heavy action with medium sized open face spinning reels. I'm trying to figure out what size line to use on these middle weight setups. Also whether to use a braided line with mono leaders and which hooks. Like I said I know very little and am looking for the best advice.Line- weight,type, Leader- lengths and how to set them up, Weight- how much and kinds. Wanna try what I have now and see how I like it before I upgrade to larger rod and reel combo's. Thanks sorry to ask so much.

2. elalr

elalr New Member

State:
    warsaw missouri
    the optimum line size for the reel is usually printed on the reel. The line size will vary on the length of rod you use, type of reel, and your target size fish. i use 15-30 lb green mono. i use the green because the visibility. if you use a black light for lighting it glows in the dark very well. if you shine a flashlight on it it shows uup very good also. I am no expert but from my experience if your line balls up when casting your openface , the line is too thick go to a smaller line. I have caught fish larger than 40 pounds on 15 lb test line. I feel that the secret is in the length of the pole. the longer the better. longer poles give you better casting distance and much more leverage. hope this helps. if i am wrong there some experts on here that can steer you in the right direction. good luck.

3. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I use 30 pound Trilene big game line it works great for me

4. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO
    30-40 pound mono will do on the reel. For leaders I like 65-80 pound mono... The length of the leader is different depending on the situation.

5. slimer1

slimer1 New Member

State:
    Missouri