Rod/Reel suggestions?

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by jerryb, Nov 8, 2007.

1. jerryb

jerryb New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I'm posting here instead of in the Equipment section cuz I'd like to tailor my rig for the Ohio area... might not make any difference, but still... feel free to move it if necessary - my feelings won't be hurt.. :)

Anyway, looking for suggestions/comments on a decent rod/reel combo. I'm targeting channels in the 15# or less range (for eating), but don't wanna be afraid to hook up with something with a bit more umph! to it (like a real flattie!)... I'm mainly lake fishing from the bank, so need something with that'll cast pretty decently...

Right now I'm looking at possibly an Abu 6000 with a catfish safari M/H rod... is this overkill? Does anyone have any suggestions on another setup?

Of course, I'd like to keep the cost as low as possible since I'm new to this and would have to be able to justify any expenditures to my accountant (the wife, of course)...

Thanks for any suggestions!

2. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio
    bankfishing lakes, one pole with the capability to catch channels and flats, at a low or med. cost.. i prefer spinning outfits for banking on lakes, However i use abus as well... i would say try a 10ft. med/hev. action 2-piece rod like the "whoopin stick" low in cost, and its a decent rod from cabelas with many different sizes and actions to choose from. and maybe a shimano baitrunner spinning reel. allows for long casting, has a fighting drag, but also a bait clicker seperate that is adjustable in tension as well. i have the 4500 series. prob. looking at 150 $ max! and you would have a great outfit for targeting both. don't be afraid to fish that 6000 though! on the same long spinning rod.. i did for years, and it would cast a mile and was good for both species from the bank.. hope this helps...rollo

3. jerryb

jerryb New Member

State:
    Ohio