Rod And Reel

Discussion in 'LOCAL ARIZONA TALK' started by somozajc, Oct 31, 2008.

1. somozajc

somozajc New Member

State:
    arizona
    Hey guys! I'm new to this blog and to fishing. I think that everything you fishing guys talk about is so interesting. I can't thank you guys enough for all the usefull information I have gathered in the last few weeks, it has helped me and my kids out a lot. I just had one question, I'm planning to buy a Rod and Reel just for my catfishing and wanted to know what route I should take? I mainly fish in Patagonia Lake so the fish available are channel catfish and flathead. So if you can lead me in the right direction on what rod, reel, and line I should buy, I would most appreciate it. I would love to catch something big so I can have a cool avatar like you pros out there in northern AZ. Thanks

2. azcataholic

azcataholic New Member

State:
    arizona
    Welcome Carlos, You certainly came to the right place to get hooked up on catfish here. Good Luck!

3. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    If you can use a conventional reel, I would say the Abu Garcia ambassadur is the best, hands down... YOu can pick up one up at Wally world for around $50 bucks... I bought a Record last year and it is my favorite. (Around $120)

* Pen has a good level wind reel as well for around $50

~ I would pair each of these reels up with an Ugly stick med heavy...

* If you like spinning reels, check out the Shimmano Bait runners.. I have a few of those I like to use when there is a lot of current, Or I am using a large live bait like a common carp.. You can adjust the tension on the bait click so the bait, or current does not take line...

~A

4. somozajc

somozajc New Member

State:
    arizona
    When you mean a conventional reel, is that a bait casting reel, or a closed spinning reel?

5. AZflats

AZflats New Member

State:
    Peoria, Arizona
    Conventional is like a bait casting reel...